Down Gaa The Official Site of

Down GAA News

Christy Ring Cup: Royals reign supreme at Croker

Sunday 23rd June 2019

Meath were crowned Christy Ring Cup champions for the second time in three years at Croke Park today courtesy of an impressive 10-point victory over Down.

Captain Seanie Geraghty got to lift the silverware after his team recorded a 4-19 to 2-15 win.

Goals from Adam Gannon (2) and substitutes Nicholas Potterton and Callum O’Sullivan laid the foundations for Nick Fitzgerald’s team’s success.

Throw-in was delayed by half an hour after the Lory Meagher Cup decider went to extra-time but the team in green and gold were quickest out of the traps and had 1-5 on the board before the Mourne County got off the mark through Danny Toner.

Gannon’s goal arrived in the 13th minute but Toner’s effort ignited the Down challenge and goals from Paul Sheehan (penalty) and Daithi Sands saw them trail by just 2-8 to 1-12 at the break.

Meath captain Sean Geraghty lifts the Christy Ring Cup. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Potterton was introduced as a half-time substitute for Barry Slevin and he made an instant impact when netting his team’s second goal inside two minutes of the resumption.

Gannon’s second goal parachuted the Royals into a 3-13 to 2-11 lead by the 44th minute and O’Sullivan – who replaced corner-forward Gannon in the 61st minute – applied the gloss to their performance with an injury-time goal.

Down’s cause wasn’t helped by the dismissal of half-back Mark Fisher for a straight red card offence with two minutes of normal time remaining.

Gannon (2-3) and Jack Regan (0-9) led the way for Meath in the scoring chart while Sheehan registered 1-8 for the Ulster outfit.

Meath - Shane McGann; Ger Murphy, Darragh Kelly, Shane Whitty; Shane Brennan (0-1), Keith Keoghan, James Kelly; Sean Geraghty, Cathal McCabe; Damien Healy (0-1), Barry Slevin (0-2), Jack Regan (0-9, 4f, 3'65); Gavin McGowan, Alan Douglas (0-1), Adam Gannon (2-3). Subs: Nicholas Potterton (1-1) for Slevin, Joey Keena (0-1) for McGowan, Stephen Morris for Kelly, Callum O’Sullivan (1-0) for Gannon, Colm O Mealoid for Douglas.

Down - Stephen Keith; Tom Murray, Caolan Taggart, Darragh Mallon; Marc Fisher (0-2), John McManus, Matthew Conlan; Phelim Savage, Liam Savage; Danny Toner (0-2), Paul Sheehan (1-8, 1-0pen, 0-6f, 0-1'65), Tim Prenter; Daithi Sands (1-1), Eoghan Sands (0-1), Oisin McManus (0-1). Subs: Mark Patterson for Murray, Conor O’Prey for Prenter, Ronan Blair for McManus, Ryan McCusker for Sheehan.

Referee - Sean Stack.