Down Gaa The Official Site of

Down GAA News

Daithí Sands makes 2022 Joe McDonagh Team of the Year

Saturday 22nd October 2022

There was recognition for Down when the 2022 Joe McDonagh Team of the Year was announced with goal scoring star Daithí Sands collecting an award to go with the honour he scooped in 2019.  The Portaferry man

The Antrim hurlers are the dominant presence in the Joe McDonagh Team of the Year with the reigning champions claiming seven slots in this Champion 15. The Saffrons are represented in every sector of the field with goalkeeper Ryan Elliott joined by defenders Joe Maskey, Gerard Walsh and Eoghan Campbell, with Keelan Molloy named in midfield, and Conal Cunning and Ciarán Clarke headlining the attack.

Congratulating the winners, Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy said: “The Joe McDonagh Cup once again delivered on its mandate of producing highly competitive, highly entertaining matches and finished with a stunning 5-22 to 4-24, Antrim-Kerry decider at Croke Park.

“There was no shortage of impressive displays throughout the campaign, which is reflected in the spread of five counties featuring here.

“It is a great honour for all of those who have been singled out as being worthy of special praise and I know it is an accolade that will be warmly welcomed by your families, clubs and supporters in your county.”

Tom Parsons, CEO of the GPA, added: “Congratulations to each of the players selected on the Joe McDonagh Team of the Year. Your individual performances stood out as being the best of the best in a great season in the competition. It is no surprise to see Antrim so strongly represented, but they were pushed all the way by Kerry in the decider and the Kingdom also have a strong presence. Well done too, to the Carlow, Offaly and Down hurlers who’ve been selected.”

Players from the Joe McDonagh Cup were asked to nominate outstanding performers in the competition, with an independent selection committee deliberating over the list of nominees.

The awards were presented at a gala black-tie function in Croke Park on Friday night.

Joe McDonagh TOTY Selection – Antrim (7) Kerry (4) Carlow (2) Offaly (1) Down (1)

  1. Ryan Elliot (Antrim)
  2. Joe Maskey (Antrim)
  3. Gerard Walsh (Antrim) (Previous winner in 2020)
  4. Eoin Ross (Kerry)
  5. Fionan Mackessy (Kerry) (Previous winner in 2020, 2021)
  6. Eoghan Campbell (Antrim)
  7. Mikey Boyle (Kerry)
  8. Keelan Molloy (Antrim) (Previous winner in 2020)
  9. David Nally (Offaly)
  10. Martin Kavanagh (Carlow)
  11. Chris Nolan (Carlow) (Previous winner in 2020, 2021)
  12. Daithí Sands (Down) (Previous winner in 2019)
  13. Conal Cunning (Antrim)
  14. Pádraig Boyle (Kerry)
  15. Ciarán Clarke (Antrim)