Down Gaa The Official Site of

Down GAA News

Glasdrumman Club Notes 10th July

Monday 10th July 2017

Glasdrumman club notes

Our juvenile footballers thoroughly  their "Meet and Greet " with the Down Stars on Monday in Downpatrick. Tty got jerseys signed, posters autographed, photos and selfies with their favourite players. Our thanks to Club chairman Gary McGreevy for driving the bus and to all who attended.  We wish Connaire Harrison, Eamonn Burns and the entire Down squad  good luck in this Sunday's Ulster Final against Tyrone.  Glasdromain Abu is AN Duin ABU.


Down GAA (in association with Danske Bank) presents The Ulster Final Chat Show on Thursday, 13 July at 8pm in the Canal Court Hotel Newry where the team for the Ulster final will be announced.  Adult Tickets £10.  Oisin McConville will be one of the panellists. This event is a fundraiser for the Down  Senior Team Fund


Our Senior Panel travelled to St.Paul's ,Hollywood last Thursday. They started well and earned another two valuable points  with a final score of Glasdrumman 2-13 . St,Paul's 1-09. 


The walking Group had an enjoyable stroll around Castlewellan Lake on Wednesday night. The walking Group will meet  this week on Wednesday at the Clubrooms.Time to be confirmed.



Our All Ireland Winner Niamh McDowell was in big demand this week. She sang three songs at a  lunch on Friday in the Slieve Donard Hotel  organised by the County Board.


Details of the golf Classic and The Ambrose Rodgers tournament on Sunday to follow .


The golf classic was held on Friday 7th July at the Kilkeel Golf Club.  

Again we were blessed by the glorious weather and made a great enjoyable day for everyone.  


A special thankyou to our Main Sponsors ‘ Glasgiven Contracts’ , Conservation Solutions and Ashgrove and Quinn’s.  


First Place Team winners: (Sponsored by Economy Glass) 

Patrick Trimble 

Aidan Sloan 

Joe Balwin 

Gearld Marks 


2nd Place Team winners: (Sponsored by J & R McDowell Stonemasons) 

Colum Cunningham, 

Paul McCullough 

Brian Graham  

Sean Ross 


3rd Place Team winners: (Sponsored by DoorFix Ring-Gard) 

Robert McChesney 

Peter O’Hare 

James O’Hare 

Malcolm Briggs 


Club Team Prize (Sponsored by GMG Joinery) 

Gary McGreevy 

Elvis Joyce 

Kevin Burns 

Colum McGreevy 


Longest Drive: Lee Murphy (Sponsored by Northern Switch Gear) 

Nearest the Pin (8th): Pascal Morgan (Sponsored by Burden Electrical) 

Nearest the Pin (11th):  Joe Baldwin (Sponsored by Granden Design)  

Nearest the Pin (15th): Peter O’Hare (Sponsored by AJC-Group) 

6 Hole Putting Competition was won by Michael Nugent Snr.  



Chairman Gary McGreevy ended the prize giving by thanking The Captain of  Kilkeel Golf Club, his ground staff and staff for the facilities and the excellent condition of the course, also the Catering Staff for the beautiful food. 

 A huge thank you to all our sponsors, all who played on the day and contributed in any way.  

Thanks to our Golf Classic Organizing committee who made the day possible, a special mention to Damian Grant and Eddie & Pauline Carr, Margo Trimble and Linda Joyce who all worked tirelessly on the day, also thanked Kerri and Tara Grant for all their help on the day.