Down Gaa The Official Site of

Down GAA News

Branagan named on intercounty championship refereeing panel for 2017

Wednesday 10th May 2017

Ciaran Branagan from the Clonduff club has once again been named on the intercounty championship refereeing panel.  Ciaran who took up the whistle in 1999 just a few months after winning a Down J.F.C. medal with Ballykinlar is one of 20 named on the 2017 panel.  It is a great encouragement to all Down referees to see Ciaran gain merited national recognition.

Football championship referees’ panel: Ciaran Branagan (Down), Barry Cassidy (Derry), David Coldrick (Meath), Niall Cullen (Fermanagh), Maurice Deegan (Laois), Marty Duffy (Sligo), David Gough (Meath), Jerome Henry (Mayo), Rory Hickey (Clare), Padraig Hughes (Armagh), Sean Hurson (Tyrone), Fergal Kelly (Longford), Conor Lane (Cork), Joe McQuillan (Cavan), Noel Mooney (Cavan), Paddy Neilan (Roscommon), Anthony Nolan (Wicklow), Derek O’Mahony (Tipperary), Padraig O’Sullivan (Kerry), Cormac Reilly (Meath).


Hurling championship referees’ panel: Sean Cleere (Kilkenny), Colum Cunning (Antrim), Brian Gavin (Offaly), Fergal Horgan (Tipperary), John Keenan (Wicklow), Alan Kelly (Galway), Barry Kelly (Westmeath), Diarmuid Kirwan (Cork), Colm Lyons (Cork), Cathal McAllister (Cork), James McGrath (Westmeath), Paud O’Dwyer (Carlow), James Owens (Wexford), Johnny Ryan (Tipperary).