Down Gaa The Official Site of

Down GAA News

Two Down men among 2017 All Star nominations

Thursday 21st September 2017

Two Down men among 2017 All Star nominations

Caolan Mooney (Rostrevor) and Connaire Harrison (Glasdrumman) have been named among the 45 nominees for the 2017 PwC All-Star football team.  All-Ireland champions Dublin dominate the list with 13 nominations while beaten finalists Mayo have recived 12 nominations.

As is tradition, the nominations are divided into three goalkeepers, 18 defenders, six midfielders and 18 forwards. It has also been agreed to honour all of those nominated with a specially commissioned certificate of achievement.

The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Football team of 2017 will be announced live on RTÉ TV and will be presented with their coveted awards at a gala black tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 3.

The selections were voted on by a committee made up of Gaelic Games correspondents, and chaired by Uachtarán Chumann Luthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail.

PwC All-Star Football Nominations:

Stephen Cluxton (Dublin), David Clarke (Mayo), Niall Morgan (Tyrone)

Jack McCaffrey, Cian O’Sullivan, Michael Fitzsimons, Philip McMahon, John Small, Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
Keith Higgins, Lee Keegan, Chris Barrett, Colm Boyle, Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
Pádraig Hampsey, Tiernan McCann (Tyrone)
Paul Murphy, Tadhg Morley (Kerry), Conor Devanney (Roscommon)
Caolan Mooney (Down)
Fintan Kelly (Monaghan)

James McCarthy, Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Tom Parsons (Mayo)
Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)
Enda Smith (Roscommon)
Kevin Feely (Kildare)

Andy Moran, Kevin McLoughlin, Aidan O’Shea, Jason Doherty, Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
Ciarán Kilkenny, Con O’Callaghan, Paul Mannion, Dean Rock (Dublin)
Paul Geaney, Kieran Donaghy, James O’Donoghue (Kerry)
Peter Harte, Niall Sludden (Tyrone)
Connaire Harrison (Down)
Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)
Jamie Clarke (Armagh)
Daniel Flynn (Kildare)


Footballer of the Year Nominees
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Andy Moran (Mayo)
David Clarke (Mayo)

Young Footballer of the Year Nominees
Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)
Seán Powter (Cork)
Michael Daly (Galway)